Sunday, September 25, 2022

A Letter from Sheri

A Letter from SheriA Letter from Sheri by Cheryl Gyant
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A deeply disturbing, involving book - a page-turner that you can't put down.
Cheryl Gyant’s "A Letter from Sheri," is a compelling story that contains scenes of a graphic nature with adult content including sex, drug use, child abuse, abduction, and violence. It’s an unsettling narrative with an atmosphere that lingers long after the last page is turned.

The serial killer murders committed by Charles Ng and Leonard Lake in California in 1986 serve as the inspiration for this tragic story. In 2001, the author started to write a book about what it was like to be adopted. She was made to believe as a child that her biological father had killed her biological mother. However, when she was a teenager, she immersed herself in a ten-year, seemingly endless search for answers.

Consequently, her mother had been a victim of the 1985 Calaveras County, California Charles Ng, and Leonard Lake serial killings. This was confirmed when her biological aunt located her as an adult. When she contacted the retired detective that had worked on the case, he forwarded her an eleven-page letter from her mother that had been retrieved from a mountain of other evidence left at the crime scene. This letter provided answers to almost all of her questions. She came to the conclusion that her mother was never heard or given a chance in life after learning everything from her letter, her biological father, and her adoption files.

"A Letter from Sheri," a story that was once about an adoptee's quest for understanding, has altered its course to tell the terrifying tale of a victim. The details provided in the letter depict a life of trauma that began when Sheri was a young child and culminated with her death at the hands of ruthless serial killers.

"A Letter from Sheri," is a deeply disturbing, involving book - a page-turner that you can't put down. There are no tidy, last-minute plot twists to make you feel good in this documentary, just focus - to keep the reader focused - and the most disciplined writing I’ve read in years. Very highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me.

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 11, 2022

MANY WORLDS - The Novelettes of T. E. Mark - Vol VIII.

MANY WORLDS - The Novelettes of T. E. Mark - Vol VIIIMANY WORLDS - The Novelettes of T. E. Mark - Vol VIII by T.E. Mark
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another great collection of sci-fi stories...

My uncle gave me a science fiction anthology forty or so years ago. I went through the entire thick red hardcover book. A lifelong love of the genre was sparked by it. The stories in that book made me think outside the box. They filled me with awe for the imagination it took to write them. The book's name is OMNIBUS OF SCIENCE FICTION, edited by Groff Conklin, a well-known and prolific editor of the genre. It was published in 1952, the Golden Age of Science Fiction. It's a sizable book with 562 pages and 43 stories broken up into sections with a similar theme. Some stories are fun, some are thought-provoking, and some are adventurous. I love them all.

Science author, screenwriter, and editor T. E. Mark wrote his first novel, FRACTURED HORIZONS, at the age of 12 in the city of Bath, England, which serves as the setting for the story. He has studied architecture, music, and literature in the UK and the US. He has been writing stories since he was a young child. For national and international magazines, Mark has written a variety of scientific articles as well as novels for both young and adult readers. For universities, governmental and non-governmental organizations, he also writes and edits academic papers on a range of topics.

Having read this author several times before, I can safely say he delivers again with his latest collection of sci-fi stories, MANY WORLDS - The Novelettes of T. E. Mark - Vol VIII.

To summarize the synopsis: A computer science student's life is turned upside down when someone from the simulated Earth he built to study how scientists and world leaders will deal with catastrophic climate change contacts him, suspecting his world has been artificially created. SIM … A small rebel contingent of pure humans has decided to act desperately as the world council prepares to outlaw human-human procreation as the planned interbreeding of humans and their synthetic creations is near completion. VINDICATION … Travel between dimensions: the Multiverse. As Paise Atherton, a Quantum Worlds Investigator searches the multiverse for his parents, the girl he loves, and the memories of his missions that are routinely taken from him to hide the terrible effects of interdimensional travel to our universe, Many Worlds gives us a glimpse into his life. MANY WORLDS.

I once again appreciated the dialogue, character growth, and stories. Many of the plot twists I didn't see coming contributed to the book's allure. I began to ponder the events of the book and replay specific scenes in order to piece together more information. The pace of this collection of novellas is just right. Here, very little is as it seems, which is exactly how sci-fi fans will want it.

Finally, it’s well worth checking out the other books in this series. With great writing and excellent storytelling, fans of sci-fi will love these also! Highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.

View all my reviews

Saturday, May 7, 2022

Pulse Book One by B.A. Bellec

Pulse (Book One)Pulse by B.A. Bellec
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A high-octane dystopian thriller...

Pulse by B.A. Bellec is the first book in the series with its high-octane story about the struggle between good and evil. It's a brutal and wide-ranging work with enough gruesome scenes to make it a horror thriller. The thrilling tale suggests that this is the first in a series, and based on what I've read so far, I can confidently say that the rest of the series will be worth waiting for.

Pulse's story portrays a dystopian society that could be just a few years away, and the true dread we should fear may not be an alien species at all, but something a little closer to home. Highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

A Virus Called Love

A Virus Called LoveA Virus Called Love by Menahem Misgav
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A well-crafted bitter sweet romance...

A Virus Called Love by Menahem Misgav tells the story of Dr. Smadar Stern who never let her youth deter her from becoming a successful physician. She's on her way back home from London to her job at a Health Maintenance Organization clinic after a short but well-deserved break. As word of a new dangerous virus spreads around the world, she realizes her role is now more crucial than ever. Her priorities have been established… Until she locks her gaze on the young and alluring Moab. Shy and embarrassed at first, Smadar was rapidly won over by his unassuming demeanor and the intriguing aura that surrounded him. Throughout the flight, they joke, laugh, and flirt. She finally lets her guard down, thinking she might have discovered one real connection, only to be swept off her feet by their pilot, Yoni. Their chemistry is quick and exciting, but she can't take her mind off Moab. As her friendship with Yoni progresses, she tells herself that she can't keep adoring someone she hardly knows. She'll most likely never see Moab again. Or so it seems…

Set against the backdrop of the Covid 19 pandemic, A Virus Called Love is simple in story, complex in construction, and unquestionably innovative in style. It’s a well-crafted bitter-sweet romance that I found to be a very enjoyable read. Highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.


View all my reviews

Monday, May 2, 2022

Heroes To The Public Villains To The Law

Heroes To The Public Villains To The LawHeroes To The Public Villains To The Law by Marta Nater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"While every Hero has a power beyond their control, every Villain has a story to tell"

Marta Nater was raised and educated in the northern regions of New York City and Massachusetts for the majority of her youth and early adolescence. Her parents relocated to the warmer state of Florida when she was in her mid-teens. Marta is from a large family and has been reared in a religious household since she was a child. Marta completely believes in the true existence and power of the almighty God above heaven, creator of all things, based on an early childhood spiritual experience. Marta has always wanted to write and become an author since she was a child.

Marta's enthusiasm for writing is not only one of her strongest, but it is also a part of her life because it has been incredibly therapeutic for her. Dorrance Publishers publishes some of her novels, while others are self-published. Marta has also been interviewed and featured on the Mike Wagner show and Triangle Media's YouTube channel about her life and books. Marta's ambition in life is to be seen as a positive role model for others in public.

Marta is currently residing in Orlando, Florida, with her husband Jaime. Marta is satisfied with her life and grateful to God for blessing her in so many ways. Marta Nater is also strongly opposed to child abuse for personal reasons and is a great supporter, advocate, and champion of the Child Abuse guidelines and laws.

Marta Nater's third fictional narrative, Heroes To The Public Villains To The Law, is about good citizens who took the law into their own hands when justice failed them. In this third and final installment, each of the villains featured and presented continues their previous social deeds in order to be heard by those with the legal authority and power to make changes for children's safety when it comes to child abusers, pedophiles, and rapists, as well as better changes regarding racism and other important social issues. The novel is entirely fictional, and the author has no intention of offending anyone.

To summarize the synopsis: In this third and final installment emerges a new teen villain, Darla. When her father, Shadow Claw, is finally captured, an enraged Darla, unable to help and left with no other choice, makes her way into Africa to seek the help of villain Cora. Upon Cora's return to New York, law enforcement is faced with Cora's ruthless wrath again. Cora's return brings her previous rivals, Jerico, Nina, and Danny, back to the scene. Cora and her new triple-team members from Africa set their eyes on human traffickers. Left with no other options, FBI headquarters sort out prisoner Amadou Khan to help in the capture of the villainess Cora.

Commissioner Danny's adopted sister, a scientist and technologist Julia joins the fight. A new mafia king leader takes over from the late mafia king. Commissioner Danny's dark secret from his past is discovered, bringing dire consequences. A familiar face from Nina Dansk's past returns for her. After receiving an unexpected tip about his parents' unsolved death, Jericho faces a new betrayal and a rival. Beast Shadow Claw's true identity is finally revealed!

The author's writing style is open, honest, and emotive, showing her enthusiasm for the subject matter. Her zeal is contagious, and she knows how to elicit an emotional response from the reader. The novel offers unexpected story twists that will keep readers guessing.

Many individuals may find this book offensive, however, that was not the author's intention. The book is simply a fictional story about good people who, when justice fails them, take matters into their own hands. The villains continue their previous crimes in this finale in order to be heard by those with the legal authority and power to make changes for our children's safety when it comes to child abusers, pedophiles, and rapists, as well as better changes regarding racism concerns.

Thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it. A well-deserved five stars from me. Looking forward to reading more from this author in the future.

View all my reviews

Saturday, April 30, 2022

Interviewing a Regular Joe: January 2020

Interviewing a Regular Joe: January 2020Interviewing a Regular Joe: January 2020 by John Rose
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A very interesting read...

John Rose's religious and spiritual novel Interviewing a Regular Joe: January 2020 is told through a fascinating conversation with an unnamed man. This work will fascinate readers of historical or religious fiction, as it is filled with religious and historical facts. The tone of this intriguing work is conversational. It's merely a discussion that flows smoothly and is straightforward to follow. The author does not provide extensive background material at the start of the book, yet this does not detract from the characters' appeal. In fact, as you read on, you learn more about them, which is thrilling since it offers the sensation of almost solving a riddle. A very interesting read that comes highly recommended.


View all my reviews

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

A Lethal Time (Samantha Jamison Mystery, #4)

A Lethal Time (Samantha Jamison Mystery, #4)A Lethal Time by Peggy A. Edelheit
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A lot of twists and turns that kept me guessing the entire time...

Everyone enjoys a good murder mystery or a whodunit book, and it's even better when it's a comedy. While there have been many serious mystery books released throughout the years, there have been even fewer comedy whodunnits and even fewer that are truly amusing. A few creative writers, on the other hand, have managed to pull off a hilarious murder mystery. A Lethal Time: A Samantha Jamison Mystery Book 4 by Peggy A. Edelheit was a very interesting read. The plot drew me in from the first page to the last. This is fast-paced and well-written work. This book will appeal to fans of mystery, suspense, and humor. Highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me.

View all my reviews